Heberling and Gerstenberger hold on to contested county nominations

By Bob Armstrong

There was only one race for a seat on the Sanilac county board of commissioners in Tuesday’s primary election.

In District Three, veteran county commissioner Gary Heberling defeated former county clerk Denise McGuire for the Republican nomination. Heberling had 702 votes while McGuire received 441.

Current commissioners Jon Block, Roger Ballard and Bill Sarkella were running unopposed, as were newcomers Christine Lee, John Moody, and Geoff Angus. With the exception of a possible write-in candidate, they will all be running unopposed in the November general election.

In the other contested election, Sanilac county road commissioner Ron Gerstenberger was returned to office for a fourth term. He defeated current county commissioner Joel Wyatt, Jr. by an almost 2 to 1 margin.