jtemplate.ru - free extensions for joomla
Friday, 29 August 2014 15:59

MAB hosts 65th Anniversary Annual Meeting on Mackinac Island

(MACKINAC ISLAND) -- The Michigan Association of Broadcasters elected their 2014-2015 Board of Directors and Officers during the MAB 65th Anniversary Annual Meeting on August 26 at the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island. The newly elected officers include Chair - Chris Warren, General Manager, Midwestern Broadcasting (Traverse City), Vice Chair/Chair-Elect - Eduardo Fernandez, Divisional General Manager, WXYZ/WMYD-TV (Detroit), Secretary/Treasurer - Debbie Kenyon, Senior Vice President/Market Manager, CBS Radio Detroit, At-Large Director - Peter Tanz, Vice President, Midwest Communications, and Immediate Past Chair - Jill Saarela, General Manager, Sinclair Broadcasting (Traverse City).

The 2014 Michigan Broadcasting Hall of Fame Inductees were George Blaha--Play-By-Play Announcer for MSU Football and Detroit Pistons Basketball, Jim Brandstatter--Play-By-Play Announcer/Analyst for U of M Football and Detroit Lions Football, and Susan E. Goldsen--Vice President and Co-Owner of Jackson Radio Works (Jackson).

George Blaha is a 2008 inductee in the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame and is the longest tenured Play-by-Play broadcaster in the state. He has been the recipient of many prestigious awards including Michigan Sports Broadcaster of the Year in 1998 and 2007 from the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association, and in 2002, he was presented the Ty Tyson Award for Excellence in Sports Broadcasting by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association. During his acceptance speech Tuesday, George said he got his first break in radio at WMIC-AM when he did the play by play for a Deckerville vs. CPS high school football game. He made the point that if it was not for WMIC letting him record that game, he would not have had the tape for future interviews, allowing him to continue his broadcasting career.


MAB President/CEO Karole L. White; 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient Mario Lacobelli; Susan E. Goldsen, Jackson Radio Works; Jim Brandstatter, U of M Football /Detroit Lions Football; and George Blaha, MSU Football/Detroit Pistons Basketball.

Jim Brandstatter and George Blaha with the Michigan Broadcasting Hall of Fame Awards.