jtemplate.ru - free extensions for joomla
Wednesday, 06 November 2013 09:44

Tuesday, Nov. 5 General Election Results in Thumb and Blue Water Area

(SANILAC COUNTY) -- There was light voter turn-out as most of the elections in Sanilac County communities were uncontested. In Sandusky, newcomer Brad Harris defeated incumbent Marguerite McNiven to win a seat on the City Council. Councilmen Roger Williamson and Larry Mitchell received 183 and 176 votes respectively, while Harris garnered 152 votes and McNiven received 86. Mayor Thomas Lukshaitis, Clerk Laurie Thompson, and Treasurer Barbara Mitchell did not have competition. In Croswell, Councilmen Rob Butler and Mike McMillan and former councilwoman Cindy Fockler were unopposed. In Brown City, incumbents Patricia Jacobson, Julie Miller, and William Walters were returned to office without opposition.

Residents in the Croswell-Lexington School District had to approve two ballot issues in order to annex to the St. Clair County Community College District. The annexation proposal failed with a tie of 1,102 votes. In order to become part of the district, voters also had to approve a 1.89 millage levy which was defeated by a count of 1,208 no and 906 yes votes. If both issues had passed, district residents would have saved about $100 per credit hour at SC4. Voters in the village of Deckerville renewed a 2-mill police protection millage with 49 yes to 12 no. By a narrow margin, residents in the Peck School district approved a 1.5-mill proposition to establish a sinking fund for building improvements. There were 147 yes votes and 130 no votes. The millage is expected to raise $101,000 in 2014.

(LAPEER) -- There was light voter turnout in Lapeer County Tuesday. In the Lapeer City Commission race, incumbent Debbie Marquardt ran as a write-in. She was defeated by Elaine Gates who garnered 321 votes. Marquardt received 117 and second write-in candidate Jamie Fricke received 39 votes respectively. Lapeer Mayor Bill Sprague ran unopposed and received 440 votes.
Lapeer voters approved three city charter amendments Tuesday. Proposal 1 sought to take the special assessment process out of the city charter and place it into an ordinance. The proposal passed with 296 yes to 218 no votes. Proposal 2, which ensures recalls of elected officials be conducted in the manner prescribed by state law, passed 386 to 135. Proposal 3 outlined that the deadline for nominating petitions of elected officials be adopted as prescribed under state law. It passed with 385 yes to 127 no.

Voters in the Lapeer Community Schools district approved an 18-mill non-homestead property tax renewal with 2,481 yes to 1,427 no votes. The millage will raise an estimated $6.1 million for the district in 2014.

Lapeer County voters who live in portions of Elba, Hadley, Deerfield, Marathon and Oregon Townships turned down the Mott Community College Bond renewal request with 313 no votes and 153 yes.

(HURON COUNTY) -- Voters headed to the polls in Huron County Tuesday and re-elected incumbent Bad Axe City Mayor Jim Hicks. He defeated challengers William Cleland, Nicholas Rochefort and Sami Makhoul. The three seats on the Bad Axe City Council were won by incumbent David Rapson, Marc Bridson and Steve Perez. They defeated Dennis Meinke.

In Caseville, Mayor Patricia Des Jardins ran unopposed for another 2-year term. She received 124 votes from the 159 voters Tuesday. Five candidates ran for three seats on the council. The winners were Debra Estep, Jerald Ignash and Todd Talaski. They defeated challengers Ryan Johnson and Alan Mason. Voters in Caseville also turned down a 2-mill proposal over 5-years to maintain and improve city streets and sidewalks with 86 no to 70 yes. The millage would have raised an estimated $68,000.

(TUSCOLA COUNTY) -- Tuscola County voters in Akron, Caro, and Vassar cast their ballots Tuesday. In the village of Akron, incumbent President Juanita Hollister won the partial term ending November 18, 2014 over her challenger Robert Sode by two votes. Winning the trustee position in Akron was Carol Dworzecki over her challenger Alvin Vollmar. The partial term will also end November 18, 2014.

In the race for three seats on the Caro City Council, incumbents Joseph Green, Michael Henry and Richard Lipan defeated their challenger Herbert Sheardy.

In Vassar, eight people were seeking three seats on the city council. Incumbents Joe Hembling and Nancy Wade were defeated by newcomers Dan Atkins, Roger Bacon, Sr., and Danny Surgent. Also defeated were Gary Kasper, Pamela Stillwell-Binder,and Nelson Vinson.


(ST. CLAIR COUNTY) -- Almost all of the proposals that appeared on the ballot in St. Clair County passed Tuesday. In the Armada School District, the .8394-mill building and site sinking fund tax levy proposal passed with 553 yes and 397 no votes. The 18-mill non-homestead operating millage renewal also passed with 610 yes to 338 no votes. Richmond Schools asked voters to approve the borrowing of $12.9 million in general obligation bonds for improvements and technology upgrades. The measure passed with 1,485 yes to 1,397 no votes. The 5-year, 3.5-mill tax increase for police protection in Marine City was defeated by voters with 447 no to 172 yes votes. In Yale, the 5-year 2-mill increase for police protection passed with 159 yes to 93 no votes. Voters in Yale narrowly passed the general operating millage request with 129 yes to 121 no votes. Port Huron voters passed the 2-mill tax renewal to support street maintenance and repair with 2,152 yes to 1,076 no votes.


In the mayoral race in Port Huron, incumbent Pauline Repp defeated her challenger Brian Moeller with 1,770 to 1,506 votes respectively. The three seats on the Port Huron City Council will be filled by incumbents Domingo Ruiz, Alan Lewandowski and Anita Ashford who defeated their challengers Alphonso Amos, Rachel Cole, and Garth Gurnsey.


There will be a new Mayor in Marysville as newcomer Dan Damman defeated challenger Gary Orr by 430 votes. The three candidates who won seats on the Marysville City Council were Wayne Pyden, Harry Dunn and David Barber with 1,839, 1,669, and 1,590 votes. They defeated challenger Joseph Johns who received 1,437 votes respectively.