jtemplate.ru - free extensions for joomla
Tuesday, 02 July 2013 10:10

Sanilac County Community Foundation Awards Scholarships to Area Graduates

(SANILAC COUNTY) -- The Sanilac County Community Foundation has announced this year's scholarship recipients. Matthew Falls, a graduate of CPS High School was selected for the Eleanor M. Bowman Scholarship. Matthew is the son of Wayne and Debbie Falls of Carsonville. He will be attending Albion College in the fall to study sports medicine and will also be playing basketball.

Susan Tebo, a Brown City High School graduate, received the Carol A. Crake Scholarship. She is attending Macomb Community College in the fall to study in the Vet Tech program. Susan is the daughter of Sharon Tebo, a retired elementary teacher from Brown City Community Schools. The Carol A. Crake Scholarship Fund was established in 2007 and is available to eligible graduates of Brown City, Imlay City or North Branch High Schools who are already accepted to a 2 or 4-year college or university. 

This year's recipient of the Kenneth Alexander Memorial Scholarship is Kathleen Weller, the daughter of Marleen and Scott Weller. Kathleen was the Co-Valedictorian at Peck Schools and will be attending Saginaw Valley State University in the fall to pursue a degree in Nursing with a minor in Spanish.

CPS graduate Ryan Davis was awarded the Daryl Walker Scholarship. Ryan, the son of Mike and Karen Davis of Carsonville, will attend Central Michigan University in the fall to pursue a doctorate degree in Physical Therapy. The scholarship was created in memory of Daryl Walker, former teacher and superintendent of Carsonville-Port Sanilac Schools. Walker had a long history of making a positive impact on youth in the local community.

Holly Good, a Sandusky High School graduate, is this year's recipient of the Connie Block-Siemen Memorial Scholarship, the Robert Cork Scholarship, the Port Sanilac Garden Club Scholarship, and the Sandusky FFA Scholarship. Holly is the daughter of Steve and Jackie Good of Sandusky. She will attend Michigan State University in the fall to study Agricultural Business Management. 

Deckerville graduate Riva Phillips is this year's recipient of the Richard M. Coffelt Memorial Scholarship Fund. Riva is the daughter of Chris and Irene Phillips. Riva was a member of the Deckerville Band and played percussion and piano. She was awarded the Frederic Chopin Award. Riva plans on attending Central Michigan University in the fall to pursue a career in Music Performance/Production. The Richard M. Coffelt Memorial Scholarship was established in honor of Richard M. Coffelt, Band Director and teacher in the Van Buren Public School system from 1948-1972.

Elizabeth Berry, daughter of John and Linda Berry, is the recipient of the Marvin Longuski/Village of Peck Educational Scholarship and the Richard M. Coffelt Memorial Scholarship. Elizabeth was a Co-Valedictorian at Peck Schools. She will be traveling to Texas to attend a Discipleship Training School through the University of Nations. Upon her return, Elizabeth will attend St. Clair Community College to obtain an associate's degree in General Education and then transfer to a 4-year university to pursue a degree in the counseling field.